ALM – Templates

Templates exist in both the process definitions and exceptions options of the Automation Lifecycle plugin. Templates allow you to re-use sections of a process definition or exception as a repeatable block. For example, a login section may be used in multiple processes and using a template means you will not have to recreate the login section for each.

Export a section as a template

  1. On the Edit definition page, click the ellipsis icon for the appropriate section and click Export.

    The Export to template panel slides out, showing the name and description of the section you have chosen.

  2. Update the name and description if required.
  3. Click Save.

    The section is saved as template.

Use a template in a process definition

  1. Create a definition in the normal way (see Process definitions).
  2. When you create a section, select Template rather than creating a new section from scratch.

  3. Select the required template from the drop-down list.

  4. Click Save to create the section of the process from the saved template.

Templates can also be used in Exceptions in the same way.

Delete a template

You can delete the latest version of a template. The Delete option is only enabled when:

  • The template is not used in a process definition document or exception.
  • The template is not locked by another user.

If you delete a template, it is permanently deleted. You cannot restore a deleted template.

To delete the latest version of a template:

  1. In either the Process definitions or Exceptions capture overview pages, click Templates.
  2. Find the template that you want to delete and click Options.
  3. Click Delete.

    A message displays asking you to confirm that you want to delete the template.

  4. Click Yes to delete the latest version of the template.

    If you have selected:

    • Version 0.1 or 0.0 of a form – all versions of the form are completely deleted.
    • Version 0.2 or higher of a form – that version is deleted and the form is reverted to the earlier version.
  5. If required, repeat steps 1-4 until you have completely deleted the form.