ALM – Other features on the Process definitions page

A number of other features are available when you are viewing and editing processes definitions, as described below:

  • Expand or collapse individual sections by clicking on them.
  • The Collapse all and Expand all icons expand or collapse all sections.

In addition to the features listed above, the following features are available when you are editing processes definitions:

  • Grabbing the Grab button icon next to the step or section allows you to drag and drop the item elsewhere to update the order.
  • The icons in the section or step allow you to edit, export to template (sections only) or delete the steps or sections. If you delete a section, it will remove any steps within it.
  • If you leave the business definition without saving it, any changes you have made are stored as draft. They will be available the next time you return to edit the definition.

Delete a process definition

You can permanently delete any version of a process definition, for example, you might want to delete version 0.4 of a process definition to revert to the structure it was using in version 0.3, or you might want to delete an obsolete process definition entirely. You can only delete a process definition for which you are defined as the owner and it is not being edited by another user at that time (it does not show as locked).

If you delete a process definition, it is permanently deleted. You cannot restore a deleted process definition.

To delete a process definition:

  1. On the Process definitions page, click Options next to the required process definition and click Delete.

    A message displays asking you to confirm that you want to delete that version.

  2. Click Yes.

    If you have selected:

    • Version 0.1 or 0.0 of a process definition, it is completely deleted.
    • Version 0.2 or higher of a process definition, that version is deleted and the process definition is reverted to the earlier version.
  3. If required, repeat steps 1 and 2 until you have completely deleted the process definition.

Use the filters on the Process definitions page

The filters enable you to easily find a specific process definition based on the selected criteria.

  1. On the Process definitions page, click Filter to open the Filter panel.
  2. Use the toggle to turn on the required filter and complete the information to find the required process definition. You can apply multiple filters at the same time.

    The available filters are:

    Filter

    Description

    Process name

    Enter the name of the process definition, or part of the name.

    Version

    Enter the version number of the process definition. The will also filter against partial matches, for example, if you enter 1, the filter will also display definitions which have versions such as 1.0 and 10.

    Sections

    Enter the name of the section that appears in the process definition, or part of the name.

    Contributors

    Enter the user's username, or part of their username.

    Owners

    Enter the user's username, or part of their username.

    Locked by

    Enter the user's username, or part of their username.

    Latest

    Select whether you want to only see the latest version of the process definition or earlier versions; the options are:

    • Yes – Displays only the latest version of the process definition. This is the default setting.
    • No – Displays only the earlier versions of the process definition and not the latest version.

    By default, the Latest filter is already turned on. You can turn this off if you want to view all versions of the process definitions.

    Updated by

    Enter the user's username, or part of their username.

    Updated date

    Enter a date range:

    • In the first field, select the earliest date.
    • In the second field, select the latest date.
    • If required, adjust the time fields. By default, the earlier date has the time 00:00:00 and the later date has the time 23:59:59, thereby including the full day.

    This displays any exceptions updated during this time frame.

    Signed off

    Select the signed off setting from the following options:

    • None – Displays the process definitions that have not yet been submitted for sign off.
    • Required – Displays the process definitions that have been submitted for sign off but not yet approved by the reviewers.
    • Approved – Displays the process definitions that have been submitted for sign off and approved.

    Sign off status

    Select the signed off status from the following options:

    • Yes – Displays the process definitions that have been signed off by one or more members.
    • No – Displays the process definitions that have not been signed off by any members.

    My access

    Select your access level from the drop-down list. The options are:

    • Owner – Displays the process definitions for which you are an owner.
    • Contributor – Displays the process definitions for which you are a contributor.
    • Viewer – Displays the process definitions for which you are a viewer.

    For more information on access levels, see Add a process definition.

    The information on the Process definitions page is immediately filtered, displaying any matches that contain the text and criteria configured in the filters.

    If you have set the filters but want to view the unfiltered information again, either click Reset filters in the panel, or turn off the required filters, or remove any settings within the filter so that it is blank.

  3. Click Close drawer to close the filter panel.