Analytics

The Analytics area allows users with the correct permissions to view and edit dashboards. Dashboards are a collection of tiles which provide a visual representation of information from various data sets.

A default dashboard is automatically installed with Blue Prism and is set as the Blue Prism home page for users who have not set their own alternative. The default dashboard is a special global dashboard which can be edited but not deleted.

Dashboard types

The following types of dashboards are available:

Dashboard type Permission required Who can view this dashboard?
Personal Design Personal Dashboards The logged-in user who created the dashboard.
Global Design Global Dashboards All users (with correct permissions - see Permissions - Analytics).
Published Design Published Dashboards Users of external applications. Published dashboards share data with external applications and can't be set as the home page. Tile data is periodically retrieved by selected Blue Prism application server instances and is available to external applications via event logs. When enabled, the BP Server checks for published dashboards every 30 seconds. The tile with the longest refresh interval is used to determine whether or not to refresh all the tiles on the dashboard and output results to the Windows event log.

Create a dashboard

  1. Click the Analytics tab.

  2. Click the Dashboard tab.

  3. Right-click anywhere inside the Dashboard tab (including any existing dashboards or dashboard groups).

  4. Select either Create Personal Dashboard, Create Global Dashboard, or Create Published Dashboard.

  5. When a new dashboard is created, the dashboard is displayed in edit mode. No operations outside of the dashboard can be performed while the dashboard is in edit mode.

  6. Edit the dashboard as required.
  7. To save the dashboard and exit the edit mode, click the menu button and click Save.

Dashboard edit mode

To edit a dashboard, the correct permission must be assigned to the user’s role. See Dashboard types for the permissions required for each dashboard type.

For more information, see Permissions.

To enter edit mode:

  1. Click the Analytics tab.

  2. Click the menu button in the top-right corner of the dashboard.

  3. Click Edit.

No operations outside of the dashboard can be performed while the dashboard is in edit mode. A dashboard remains in edit mode until it is saved or the editing is canceled.

In edit mode, you can:

You cannot copy a dashboard while it is in edit mode. See Copy a dashboard for more information.

Add a tile to a dashboard

  1. Click the Analytics tab.

  2. Click the Dashboard tab.

  3. Click the Tile Library tab to display the list of available tiles.

  4. Drag and drop a tile onto the dashboard.

Tiles can be dropped into any blank space on the dashboard.

If a tile is dropped onto another existing tile, it will take the place of that tile and push the existing tile to a new position.

Resize and remove tiles

Right-click a tile in edit mode to open the context menu with options to select the size of tiles, or remove them:

  • Small — The tile occupies one square of the grid.
  • Medium — The tile occupies two squares of the grid.
  • Large — The tile occupies one row of the grid.
  • Remove — The currently selected tile is removed from the dashboard.
  • Remove All Tiles — All tiles on the dashboard are removed.

Move a tile in a dashboard

You can drag and drop a tile into any other position on the dashboard grid. When tiles are moved, surrounding tiles are automatically moved to fit alongside them.

Add a title to a dashboard

Add title to dashboard

To edit the dashboard title in edit mode:

  1. Click in the editable text field and type over the existing text.

  2. Click the menu button.

  3. Click Save.

Save the dashboard

  1. Click the menu button in the top-right corner of the dashboard.

  2. Click Save.

The dashboard will no longer be in edit mode after you click Save.

Cancel edit mode

  1. Click the menu button.

  2. Click Close.

    If there are unsaved changes a message displays asking whether any current changes should be discarded.

  3. Click Yes to discard changes and revert the dashboard to its previously saved state, or click No to continue working with the dashboard in edit mode.

Copy a dashboard

  1. Select the Dashboard tab

  2. Right-click a dashboard in the navigation tree area (not currently in edit mode).

  3. Select one of the following options from the context menu:

    • Copy As Personal Dashboard

    • Copy As Global Dashboard

    • Copy As Published Dashboard

Once you have selected one of the options above, the copied dashboard is placed into the appropriate dashboard group and given the name Copy of dashboard name. The copied dashboard is opened in edit mode.

Delete a dashboard

  1. Select a dashboard from the navigation tree in the Dashboard tab.

  2. Select Delete Dashboard from the right-click context menu.

  3. A message displays asking if you are sure you want to delete the dashboard:

    • Click Yes to delete the dashboard

    • Click No to cancel the deletion

You cannot delete:

  • A dashboard that is set as the current home page dashboard for all users

  • The Default dashboard

  • A dashboard in edit mode

Set dashboard as home page

Any personal or global dashboard can be displayed as the home page. If a personal dashboard is chosen for the home page, it will only be visible to the current user. If a global dashboard is selected for the home page, it will be visible to all users.

To set a new home page dashboard:

  1. Click the Dashboards tab.

  2. Right-click a dashboard in the Dashboards tab.

  3. Select Set as My Home Page.

  4. The dashboard displays at the top of the list of dashboards and on the home page for the appropriate users.

Set dashboard permissions

The dashboard permissions control a user’s ability to work with tiles, or design global and personal dashboards. A user with permission to access System Manager may set the roles and permissions of another user.

For more information, see User Permissions.

Users without any dashboard permissions will see the default dashboard when logging into Blue Prism.